Megafinal 2018 - results for section U12

The following players have made it through to the Gigafinal. Information about how to enter this will be issued in the next two weeks.

Ahad Araf

Ahad Monaf

Allen Richard

Bartlett Samuel

Baynes Ollie

Bentley Zac

Blackford Ross

Brough Will

Clarke Aiden

Davis Aidan

Johannesson Jay

Pietrasik Kasey

Simmers Robert

Wilson Florence

Yanev Pavel

Zhang Richard

Megafinal 2018 - results for sections U7-U11

Well done to everyone who played in the Megafinal today.  The standard of chess was high and all players are to be commended for their efforts.

The following players have made it through to the Gigafinal. Information about how to enter this will be issued in the next two weeks.


Under 7

Liang Marshall

Meyer Mckeon James

Sol Valentina


Under 8

Ball Torokoff Clara

Baxter Ryan

Bendle Luke

Best Solorzano Ethan

Dalgliesh Alexander

Glass Finlay

Gordon Frederick

Hunt Angharad

Li Yingjie

Molyneux Edward

Palanivel Raghav

Rose Tim

Shepherd Fiontan

Shetty Maya

Thompson Imogen

Tierney Daniel

Uytman Donald

Vere Frankie

Wan David

Warcup Ross


Under 9

Bolt Charlie

Brickley Jonathan

Chandra Samuel

Crichton Jacob

Freshwater Calum

Hunt Osian

Jackson Jamie

Ly Joshua

Mcdowell Anne

Mcghee Javid

Mckendrick Andrew

Mckinnon Charlie

Moroz Kai

Orpel Nicole

Pratt Harold

Ridder William

Robertson Callum

Stewart Archie

Tai Eva

Taylorladas Finn

Turner Jonathan


Under 10

Balakumar Aksara

Ball Torokoff Maximilien

Beattie Sam

Bestsolorzano Sara

Brennan Luke

Burton George

Callea Samuelle

Carroll Renne

Cottee Alasdair

Dalgliesh James

Dall Calum

Dines Caitlin

Gatenby Sen

Gera Morvin

Gilbert Alexander

Glass Kieran

Kelly Will

Kumar Ishan

Samuel Euan

Simmers Olly


Under 11

Beaton Matthew

Calwell Christopher

Chalmers Rocco

Deng Aidan

Feng Jennifer

Feng Jonathan

Fordyce Jamie

Gilson Charlie

Herbert Nicholas

Hunt Tomos

John Mcadams Jamie

Kringecarri Cristina

Liang Chelsea

Mazzei Daniel

Mccullagh Niall

Shepherd Orlaith

Stewart Hugo

Whalley Oliver

Willder Matthew

Team Day 2 - 4th February 2018

P5 and Under

1st ESMS P5

2nd Sciennes

3rd Nigel Short Chess Society


1st ESMS P6 *

2nd St Peters A *

3rd Flora Stevenson

*Qualified for the UK Schools u11 Finals being held at Uppingham School in July


1st Boroughmuir High School *

2nd Stewart Melville

*Qualified for the UK Schools Team Challenge being held at Imperial College, London in April

Lothian Junior Championships Results - 3rd December 2017


P5 and Under

1st          Osian Hunt                     6/6

2nd        Raghav Pananivel             5/6

3rd         Kai Moroz                      4.5/6

P6 and P7

1st         Jonathan Feng                 5.5/6

2nd       Oliver Baynes                    5/6

3rd        Matthew Wilder                5/6


1st        Lukah Connolly Sams       6/6 

2nd       Aryaman Verma            4.5/6      

3rd        Dietah Connolly Sams  4.5/6





Team Day 1 Results


1st: Stewart Melville (Lothians Secondary Shield)

2nd: Barbardians

3rd: Boroughmuir (Holyrood Shield)



1st: NSCS (Bill Platts)

2nd: St Peters A (Queensferry Shield)

3rd: Floras

4th: ESMS P6

5th: Sciennes A

6th: Low Port/Spingfield Primary

7th: ESMS P7

8th: Dunbar Junior Chess Club


Challengers: Barbarians

Novice: Sciennes B

Novice: St Geroge’s Lower A

Novice: Bonaly


Primary 5 & Under

1.    ESMS P5 (Shield)

2.    Sciennes (Calton Shield)

3.    Bonlay 

4.    James Gillespie’s

5.    NSCS

6.    St Peter’s C


Novice: St George’s P5

Novice: St Peters A

Novice: South Morningside


Full results on chess-results here

Edinburgh Junior Congress - CFK Qualifier

Here are the results from the Edinburgh Junior Congress:-


  • 1st Murdo McLaurin 5.5/6 (Qualifier)
  • 2nd Pavel Yanev 4.5/6 (Qualifier)
  • 3rd= Joe Dobson 4/6
  • 3rd= Chirag Shetty 4/6 (Qualifier)
  • 5th= Richard Zhang 3.5/6 (Qualifier)
  • 5th= Florence Wilson 3.5/6 (Qualifier)
  • 5th= Joel Chambers 3.5/6 (Qualifier)

Secondary u600 (All Qualified for CFK Finals)

  • 1st= Kieron Munro
  • 1st= Wojciech Lipowski
  • 3rd= Philip Inglis
  • 3rd= Daniel Best-Solorzano

Secondary u300 (All Qualified for CFK Finals)

  • 1st Aryaman Verma 5/5
  • 2nd Arna Verma 4/5
  • 3rd Mario Duric 3/5

Primary u600 (All Qualified for CFK Finals)

  • 1st= Sanjith Madhavan 5.5/6
  • 1st= Matthew Willder 5.5/6
  • 3rd Osian Hunt 4.5/6
  • 4th= Tomos Hunt 4/6
  • 4th= Michael Moroz 4/6
  • 4th= Jamie Fordyce 4/6
  • 4th= James Coyle 4/6
  • 4th= Jonathan Feng 4/6
  • 4th= Jennifer Feng 4/6

Primary u300 (All Qualified for CFK Finals)

  • 1st= Nathan Bird
  • 1st= Hugo Stewart
  • 3rd Ross Warcup
  • 4th= Fabian Butchart
  • 4th= Ishan Kumar
  • 4th= Callum Robertson
  • 4th= Harold Pratt
  • 4th= Oliver Simmers
  • 4th= Jay Johannesson
  • 4th= Moray Bennett
  • 4th= Afrin Ahmed 

Lothian Junior Chess AGM

The Lothian Junior Chess (LJC) AGM will be held on Thursday 24th August at the Edinburgh Chess Club, 1 Alva Street, Edinburgh with doors opening at 7:00pm for coffee, tea and biscuits and a chance for an infomal chat before the AGM itself at 7:30pm.

Anyone who has taken part in any of the events we have organised, and this includes the parents of players and team managers, or who has an interest in developing or supporting junior chess in the Lothian regions are welcome and are positively encouraged to attend.

We are always looking for new ideas for promoting chess and for better ways of running our events and the AGM is a great opportunity for anyone for their own ideas to bring them to our attention.

Chess in the Park

Chess Edinburgh have started playing Chess at the Fountain Cafe, West Princes Street Gardens -located near the Fountain, Play Park and Public Toilets.

They are meeting at 2pm, every Thursday - Juniors are more than welcome to come and play - and it'd be a great way to get some chess in over the holidays.

Gary Scott the Proprietor of the Fountain Cafe in the West Princes Street Gardens is enthusiastic, as he has experienced Chess being played at Central Park, New York and is a Chess player himself, which is a bonus.

The Cafe can accommodate outside is 100 players or 50 chess sets, so table space is not an issue.

If you are thinking of attending on any Thursday afternoon, please bring a Chess set with you (and a Chess clock if you have one!)

We hope to see many of you over the summer months!